RSS

A Glimpse of Luke’s Heart

16 Apr

Since moving to Indonesia 10 months ago I have heard the call to prayer from the many mosques around my house. I remember the words of our team member that introduced us to our home. He said, “I just want to warn you, life is kind of loud here.” Boy what a wake up call it was when I heard that first morning call to prayer at around 4:30 am. It happens 5 times a day. Each mosque has their own loudspeakers, normally 4 per mosque. Fortunately the kids learned to sleep through it within the first week. I rarely sleep through it.

IMG_1997

I don’t wear a watch anymore. I know that one call will be at lunchtime, another around 3pm, one at sunset and one an hour after sunset and of course between 4 and 4:30am. We actually use the one at sunset as a signal for the kids to come home.

I confess, for someone like me that enjoys peace and quiet it is easy to be annoyed with all the noise. I have asked God to break my heart over the lost condition of my many Muslim neighbors. Each day I hear thousands of Muslims calling out to Allah. Many of them are sincere, doing what they think may get them into Heaven. One such person is my friend and neighbor. Last week he came to my house for a visit. We started out talking about motorcycles and ended up spending about an hour comparing Bible verses with the Quran. It was a great time of discussion. I believe that the Holy Spirit is working on this man’s heart.

As I woke up this morning I prayed for my neighbors that they may know Jesus. That they would trust him as Savior and Lord of their lives. The verse that came to me this morning was John 14:6. Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.”

Please pray with me this week, as Easter approaches, that many of our neighbors will know that Jesus is the Way, the Truth and the Life, and they will come to the Father through Him.

IMG_1996

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 16, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “A Glimpse of Luke’s Heart

  1. pattycal@comcast.net

    April 18, 2014 at 2:14 am

    Joy and Luke,

    We pray for you every day! We will be praying for your neighbors to know that Jesus is the Way…

    I can’t imagine hearing calls to prayer at 4:30am. Glad the kids sleep through it.

    Our grandchildren are growing so fast. Julia and Meredith have asked Jesus into their hearts. Also, 4 of my son’s kids.  We are praying for the other 5.

    Hug each other for us. Happy Easter. God is awesome!

    I keep looking at the photo of Luke reading to your kids at Christmas! Great idea!

    love,

    Patty and Doug

     

Leave a Reply

 
